1. Department of Metallurgical Processes
    1. Head:
      Prof. Władysław Gąsior, Ph.D, D.Sc.

  2. Department of Chemical Physics of Materials
    1. Head:
      Tomasz Czeppe Ph.D, D.Sc

  3. Laboratory of Functional and Structural Materials
    1. Head:
      Jerzy Morgiel, Prof.

  4. Department of Surface Engineering and Biomaterials
    1. Head:
      Prof. Ewa Bełtowska-Lehman, Ph.D., D.Sc.

  5. Department of Anisotropic Structures
    1. Head:
      Prof. Jan Bonarski, Ph.D., D.Sc.

  6. Department of Plastic Deformation of Metals
    1. Head:
      Prof. Henryk Paul, Ph.D., D.Sc.

  7. Department of Multilayer Materials
    1. Head:
      Prof. Paweł Zięba, Ph.D., D.Sc.


About the Institute


The Institute is one of the leading research centres in the field of fundamental and applied materials science. The research activities correspond to the prioritiesof Ministry of Science, Research and Information Technology, Polish Academy of Sciences and 6th Frame-work Programme of the European Community. The research is performed based a long-term co-operation with large number of scientific institutions in Poland and such countries as: Austria, Canada, France, Germany, South Africa, Hungary, Israel, Japan, Korea, Russia, Spain, Slovakia, USA, Japan, Holland, Slovenia, Ukraine, Taiwan and Korea. In recognition of its scientific achievements, the main Polish scientific authority-State Committee for Scientific Research systematically in every-four-year assessments, awards the Institute the highest possible grade.

The Institute employees 91 persons, including 41 scientific staff: 8 professors with tenure, 10 associate professors (with D.Sc.), 23 assistant professors (with Ph.D.). The Institute is authorized to confer Ph.D. and D.Sc. degrees in the field of metallurgy and materials engineering.

Search employee


25 Reymonta Street
30-059 Kraków


phone (secretary):

fax: +48-12-2952804

e-mail: office@imim.pl